Jump to main navigationJump to page content

USITT - OVS Announces Scholarship Recipients

Students awarded scholarships and internships to attend March 2017 USITT National Conference in St. Louis, MO

USITT-OVSCleveland, OH, Feb. 8, 2017 – The Ohio Valley Section is pleased to announce the recipients of funding and internships to support attendance of the 57th Annual Conference and Stage Expo presented by USITT. Eligible students are registered undergraduate or graduate student in good standing (G.P.A. 3.0 or better) in an institution whose members are active in the Ohio Valley Section of USITT. All applicants submitted a letter of recommendation from a faculty sponsor, transcript, resume, and work samples for review by the scholarship committee. The OVS is pleased to make three awards this year.

The recipients are:

  • Joey Sauthoff, a current graduate student at Ohio University studying technical direction in the Production Design and Technology program. Joey received a $500 scholarship and an internship. Joey also received a scholarship for the 2015 conference.
  • Erin Brandt, second year MFA candidate at Ohio University studying props technology. Erin received a $500 scholarship and an internship. 
  • Ethan Brown, a Junior Design/Technology B.F.A. student at Otterbein University. Ethan received a $500 scholarship.

USITT 2017The OVS extends thanks to the review committee: Elynmarie Kazle, Helene Siebrits and Rebecca Wolf, and all faculty sponsors for their contribution to this year’s competition. A special thanks is given to Future Light Inc. for providing the internships.

The United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc. (USITT) connects performing arts design and technology communities to ensure a vibrant dialog among practitioners, educators, and students.


Karen A. Glass

Scholarship Committee Chair
USITT Ohio Valley Section