Jump to main navigationJump to page content

USITT - Ohio Valley Section



The Ohio Valley Section (OVS) of USITT is this area's professional association for theatre design and technology. Through its links with all of the national members of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology, the OVS is part of a network of information and contacts for the live performing arts production industry across North America.

Members of the OVS are theatre and industry professionals, educators and students, consultants and administrators. Through the section's social media, tour events, technical workshops and design seminars, members keep current in the fast-paced world of live production. Since its founding in 1976, the OVS has hosted regional conferences, exchanging new ideas and encouraging valuable professional contacts. At the annual USITT National Conference and Stage Expo, OVS members can participate in an international industry-wide forum.

The OVS is part of an international resource network, but its focus is on performing arts in the Ohio Valley area. Its association with professional companies, educational institutions and government agencies ensures continuing participation in the performing arts industry. That's a valuable resource for you and your organization. The section promotes the Institute's purpose to serve the live theatrical production industry by providing resources and events designed to keep members aware of new trends and developments.

The section has provided master classes with such renowned designers as Jennifer Tipton, Gil Wechsler, Desmond Healy, Tom Skelton, Carrie Robbins, John Conklin, Jules Fisher, David Collison and Lynn Pecktel. The region has organized tours of new and renovated facilities with the latest "state of the art" equipment and technology.

Since 1978, the Ohio Valley Section has sponsored an annual design exhibit of Ohio designers. In addition, the region has established the Peggy Ezekiel design and artisan achievement awards which have been presented to designers and craftspeople since 1987. These awards recognize excellence in the performing arts and special contributions to the theatre production industry in the Ohio Valley Section.

Current OVS Board

Elected starting July 1, 2016, the current USITT-Ohio Valley board is:

  • Chair: Kathleen DeVault, Ohio Northern University
  • Secretary: Steven Pauna, Kent State University
  • Treasurer: John Seaman, Future Light
  • Vice Chair (VC) of Programming: Melanie Mortimore, Miami University
  • VC of Communications: Ken Clothier, Seton Hill University
  • VC of Operations: Ronnie Chamberlain, Northern Kentucky University
  • VC of Special Projects: Jeffrey Gress, Capital University
  • At-Large Members: Paul Sanow, Theatre Consultants Collaborative; Elynmarie Kazle; Jakyung Seo, Kent State University; Christopher Swetcky, Penn State University; David Glowacki, Kent State University-Tuscawaras; Karen Glass, Seton Hill University.